Office of the President

TANF/ New Opps

TANF Services

The QIN TANF Program assists needy families with children. In addition to cash assistance, the program provides eligible parents, pregnant women and needy-caretaker relatives with job preparation, work experience and support services (as applicable). The program is intended to assist participants in becoming economically self-sufficient and not dependent upon the program for assistance.

To be eligible for a cash grant, participants must submit Work Activity Logs (WAL) and Monthly Eligibility Reports (MER) every month. If the MER is submitted after the due date, a late grant will be issued.

Cash grants are issued via check, direct deposit or debit card. On-time grants are issued on or around the first of the month. Late grants are issued by the tenth of the following month. If a payment is not received within three business days from the expected date, participants should contact their assigned caseworker.

Support Services are available in addition to cash grants and are based upon showing a financial need for the requested items or services. Request can be submitted at any time and a decision will be made within three business days.

Diversion Services


Families with biological or adopted children may apply for Diversion Services. Families may receive eight diversions per lifetime and cannot reapply until a year and a day after the last one was received. Diversions are issued directly to the participant and are in the amount of $2,000.00. Applicants who do not have both biological or adoptive parents in the home must provide a Custody Order or Parenting Plan that shows that the children live with them at least 51% if the time.

Employment and Training Services


The Employment and Training Division assists participants in obtaining and retaining employment and with finding opportunities for continued education. Services are designed to provide career exploration activities, knowledge and the tools necessary to enter into or advance in the workforce. Employment and Training Services are available to adult participants who are open on a Family, Pregnancy or Transitional Services Case.

Youth Services


The Youth Division assists parents and caretakers to ensure that youth are in school and making progress. Youth Services are available to youth who are open on a Family, Minor Parent or Child Only Case.

Child Support Services


The TANF Child Support Specialist works with QIN Child Support to establish child support for children that are receiving monthly cash assistance from the program.

Applicants that are applying for monthly cash assistance, who do not have both biological or adoptive parents in the family unit, must complete a Child Support Referral and Assignment and provide a copy of a Child Support Order or Parenting Plan (if available). 
Applicants may request a waiver from completing the Child Support Referral and Assignment by completing a Good Cause Exemption Form.

Washington Connection
(Food, Medical and Childcare Assistance)

QIN TANF is an Assisting Agency for Washington Connection. As an assisting agency, QIN TANF Staff are available to help with new and renewal application for Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Benefits. Applications are completed online on behalf of the applicant.

Documents: 

1) Application Diversion Service
2) Application TANF Services Family, Minor Parent or Pregnancy
3) Application TANF Services Child-Only
4) Appeal Form
6) Incentive Request
7) Landlord Statement
8) Monthly Eligibility Report  
9) Resource Form
11) Rights and Responsibilities
12) Self Employment Form
13) Support Service Request
14) Transitional Services Recertification

 


New Opportunities Program (General Assistance)

The New Opportunities Program is intended to provide monthly cash assistance to meet certain specified unmet essential needs of eligible Indians. Those eligible to apply include all Quinault Tribal Members residing within the service area and also members of other federally recognized tribes that reside within the boundaries of the Quinault reservation. Case types include high school students who are at least 18 years of age, college students, employable adults and adults who are medical or treatment exempt.

To be eligible for a cash grant, participants must submit a Monthly Redetermination Report (MRR) every month. If the MRR is submitted after the due date, a late grant will be issued.

Cash grants are issued via check, direct deposit or debit card. On-time grants are issued on or around the first of the month. Late grants are issued by the tenth of the following month. If a payment is not received within three business days from the expected date, participants should contact the Program Coordinator.

Documents:             

Application

New Opps Employable Participant (MRR)
New Opps College / High School / Vocational Participant (MRR)
New Opps Medical / Treatment Participant (MRR)
Participants Responsibilities Form
Primary Physicians Report
Release of Information Form
New Opps Appeal Form
New Opps Policy Manual    

TANF and New Opportunities Programs

Manager: Mary Papp mpapp@quinault.org

Office Locations and Contact Information


Offices are open Monday – Thursday, 8 am – 4:30 pm. Forms may be submitted at the offices during regular business hours, in the drop boxes located outside each of the offices or by emailing to tanf@quinault.org.

Taholah Site


701 Cuitan Street

Phone (360) 276-8215 Ext 4101 Fax (360) 276-0008

Site Coordinator: Kierstin Pope kpope@quinault.org

Intake Specialist: Dorothy Ramirez dramirez@quinault.org

Employment and Training Specialist: Julie Reed julie.reed@quinault.org

Child Support Specialist: Carol Miller cmiller@quinault.org

Youth Coordinator: Edie Brooks ebrooks@quinault.org

Youth Advocate: John MacLean john.maclean@quinault.org

Caseworkers: Lisa McKinney lisa.mckinney@quinault.org
and Aiyana Underwood aiyana.underwood@quinault.org


New Opportunities Program Coordinator:
Francene Nations fnations@quinault.org and 360-581-0433

Queets Site

21 Queets Avenue
Phone (360) 276-8215 Ext 2104 or (360) 962-2051 Fax (360) 962-2460

Site Coordinator: Jennifer Bryan jbryan@quinault.org  

Intake Specialist: Maria Garman maria.garman@quinault.org  

Employment and Training Specialist: Julie Reed julie.reed@quinault.org

Child Support Specialist: Carol Miller cmiller@quinault.org

Youth Coordinator: Edie Brooks ebrooks@quinault.org

Youth Advocate: Rikki James rjames@quinault.org

Caseworker: Rosemary Jackson rjackson@quinault.org

New Opportunities Program Coordinator:
Francene Nations fnations@quinault.org and 360-581-0433

Hoquiam Site


400 8th Street, Suite B
Phone (360) 276-8215 Ext 4150 or (360) 537-1324 Fax (360) 537-1265

Site Coordinator: Jennifer Bryan jbryan@quinault.org

Intake Specialist: Maria Garman maria.garman@quinault.org

New Opportunities Program Coordinator: Francene Nations fnations@quinault.org

Employment and Training Specialist: Julie Reed julie.reed@quinault.org

Child Support Specialist: Carol Miller cmiller@quinault.org

Youth Coordinator: Edie Brooks ebrooks@quinault.org

Youth Advocate: Rikki James rjames@quinault.org

Caseworkers: Taunya Harnden tharnden@quinault.org and
Saquanna Sotomish saquanna.sotomish@quinault.org

New Opportunities Program Coordinator:
Francene Nations fnations@quinault.org and 360-581-0433

 
Tribal council
Tribal News
current Job openings
Fishing Regulations
Photos by Larry Workman
Admin Phone listing
P.O. Box 189
Taholah, Wa. 98587
Phone: 360-276-8211
Or
360-861-8840
Toll free: 1-888-616-8211
Fax: 360-276-4191
e-mail webmaster